My First Hackathon Experience

My First Hackathon Experience

How did it start?

It all started in the middle of December 2022 from me having burnout because I was caught up in the tutorial hell of learning frontend web development. I was having self-doubt about how much skill I genuinely acquired, I wanted to test myself. One of the seniors in my college motivated me to take part in Hackathons to test my skills. So I thought to give it a try!

Forming a team

To take part in a Hackathon I needed a team of people with whom I could coordinate smoothly. So I reached out to three of my friends from college. At first, they were confused to participate because they also never had been a part of a Hackathon but I convinced them to give it a try and they agreed.

Taking part in the Hackathon

As it was our first time in a Hackathon so we had no clue about it. We signed up for the Hackathon organized by Major League Hacking and Devpost. The name of the hackathon was Hacky New Year and it was from 30th December to 1st January 2023. The theme of the hackathon was New Year, and the given time was 36hrs to make & submit the project. We had one only goal i.e. to complete the project we make in the given time. We didn't have any expectations of winning, we just thought of participating in the hackathon and gaining some experience from it.

But guess what! I was wrong. My team managed to grab 2nd place in the Hackathon!! YayyyπŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰
We couldn't believe that we would win in the first hackathon we participated and we are grateful for thatπŸ™. We started the year 2023 in a good way.

Overall experience

My overall experience about participating in Hackathon is that no matter if you learned the skill for 1 month, 2 months or even 6 months, you will only be able to know how much you have learned just in the time limit given in the Hackathon.

Β